2006 NCAA Tournament Schedule

0 Comments

Key 2006 NCAA Basketball Tournament Dates:

  • Selection Sunday:  March 12

  • First Round Begins:  March 16

  • Final Four Begins:  April 1

  • National Championship:  April 3

2006 NCAA Basketball Tournament Sites & Dates

Opening Round; Tuesday, March 14

The opening round of the NCAA Tournament matches the 64th and 65th teams in the tournament.  The winner becomes the #16 seed in one of the regions.

Dayton, OH; Dayton Arena

First & Second Rounds; Thursday, March 16 & Saturday, March 18

The first and second rounds of the NCAA Tournament feature eight teams at each host site.  Each of the top four seeds in each region is placed at a site as close as possible to the school, and the other three teams in that school’s “pod” also play at that site.

Greensboro, NC; Greensboro Coliseum

Jacksonville, FL; Veterans Memorial Coliseum

San Diego, CA; Cox Arena

Salt Lake City, UT; Huntsman Center

First & Second Rounds; Friday, March 17 & Sunday, March 19

Dallas, TX; American Airlines Arena

Dayton, OH; Dayton Arena

Detroit, MI; Palace of Auburn Hills

Philadelphia, PA; First Union Spectrum

Regionals; Thursday, March 23 & Saturday, March 25

Atlanta, GA; Georgia Dome

Oakland, CA; The Arena in Oakland

Regionals, Friday, March 24 & Sunday, March 26

Washington, DC; MCI Center

Minneapolis, MN; Metrodome

Final Four, Saturday, April 1 & Monday, April 3

Indianapolis, IN; RCA Dome; Tickets are allocated by the NCAA in a lottery system.  Click here for more information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories

Archives

Great Hotel Rates and More!

TourneyTravel.com offers great rates on hotels, flights and rental cars! Book all your travel through TourneyTravel.com!
$100 REBATE OFFER!

Book a Special Internet Rate hotel room and receive up to $100 in rebates!! Click here for more info!