NCAA Tournament Champions


NCAA Tournament History – Final Four Champions & Participants

Year Site Champion Second Score Semifinalist Semifinalist Most Outstanding Player
2003 New Orleans Syracuse Kansas 81-78 Texas Marquette Carmelo Anthony, Syracuse
2002 Atlanta Maryland Indiana 64-52 Kansas Oklahoma Juan Dixon, Maryland
2001 Minneapolis Duke Arizona 82-72 Michigan St. Maryland Shane Battier, Duke
2000 Indianapolis Michigan St. Florida 89-76 North Carolina Wisconsin Mateen Cleaves, Mich. St.
1999 St. Petersburg Connecticut Duke 77-74 Michigan St. Ohio St. Richard Hamilton, UConn
1998 San Antonio Kentucky Utah 78-69 North Carolina Stanford Jeff Sheppard, Kentucky
1997 Indianapolis Arizona Kentucky 84-79* North Carolina Minnesota Miles Simon, Arizona
1996 E. Rutherford Kentucky Syracuse 76-67 Massachusetts Miss. St. Tony Delk, Kentucky
1995 Seattle UCLA Arkansas 89-78 North Carolina Oklahoma St. Ed O’Bannon, UCLA
1994 Charlotte Arkansas Duke 76-72 Arizona Florida Corliss Williamson, Ark.
1993 New Orleans North Carolina Michigan 77-71 Kentucky Kansas Donald Williams, UNC
1992 Minneapolis Duke Michigan 71-51 Indiana Cincinnati Bobby Hurley, Duke
1991 Indianapolis Duke Kansas 72-65 UNLV North Carolina Christian Laettner, Duke
1990 Denver UNLV Duke 103-73 Georgia Tech Arkansas Anderson Hunt, UNLV
1989 Seattle Michigan Seton Hall 80-79* Illinois Duke Glen Rice, Michigan
1988 Kansas City Kansas Oklahoma 83-79 Arizona Duke Danny Manning, Kansas
1987 New Orleans Indiana Syracuse 74-73 UNLV Providence Keith Smart, Indiana
1986 Dallas Louisville Duke 72-69 Kansas LSU Pervis Ellison, Louisville
1985 Lexington Villanova Georgetown 66-64 St. John’s Memphis Ed Pinckney, Villanova
1984 Seattle Georgetown Houston 84-75 Kentucky Virginia Patrick Ewing, Georgetown
1983 Albuquerque NC State Houston 54-52 Georgia Louisville $Akeem Olajuwon, Houston
1982 New Orleans North Carolina Georgetown 63-62 Louisville Houston James Worthy, UNC
1981 Philadelphia Indiana North Carolina 63-50 Virginia LSU Isiah Thomas, Indiana
1980 Indianapolis Louisville UCLA 59-54 Purdue Iowa Darrell Griffith, Louisville
1979 Salt Lake City Michigan St. Indiana St. 75-64 DePaul Pennsylvania Earvin Johnson, Mich. St.
Year Site Champion Second Score Third Place Fourth Place Most Outstanding Player
1978 St. Louis Kentucky Duke 94-88 Arkansas Notre Dame Jack Givens, Kentucky
1977 Atlanta Marquette North Carolina 67-59 UNLV UNC-Charlotte Butch Lee, Marquette
1976 Philadelphia Indiana Michigan 86-68 UCLA Rutgers Kent Benson, Indiana
1975 San Diego UCLA Kentucky 92-85 Louisville Syracuse R. Washington, UCLA
1974 Greensboro NC State Marquette 76-64 UCLA Kansas David Thompson, NC State
1973 St. Louis UCLA Memphis 87-66 Indiana Providence Bill Walton, UCLA
1972 Los Angeles UCLA Florida St. 81-76 North Carolina Louisville Bill Walton, UCLA
1971 Houston UCLA Villanova$ 68-62 W. Kentucky Kansas $Howard Porter, Villanova
1970 Coll. Park, MD UCLA Jacksonville 80-69 New Mexico St. S. Bonaventure Sidney Wicks, UCLA
1969 Louisville UCLA Purdue 92-72 Drake North Carolina Lew Alcindor, UCLA
1968 Los Angeles UCLA North Carolina 78-55 Ohio St. Houston Lew Alcindor, UCLA
1967 Louisville UCLA Dayton 79-64 Houston North Carolina Lew Alcindor, UCLA
1966 Coll. Park, MD Texas Western Kentucky 72-65 Duke Utah Jerry Chambers, Utah$
1965 Portland, OR UCLA Michigan 91-80 Princeton Wichita St. Bill Bradley, Princeton$
1964 Kansas City UCLA Duke 98-83 Michigan Kansas St. Walt Hazzard, UCLA
1963 Louisville Loyola (IL) Cincinnati 60-58* Duke Oregon St. Art Heyman, Duke$
1962 Louisville Cincinnati Ohio St. 71-59 Wake Forest UCLA Paul Hogue, Cincinnati
1961 Kansas City Cincinnati Ohio St. 70-65* St. Joe’s (PA) Utah Jerry Lucas, Ohio State$
1960 San Francisco Ohio St. California 75-55 Cincinnati NYU Jerry Lucas, Ohio State
1959 Louisville California West Virginia 71-70 Cincinnati Louisville Jerry West, West Virginia
1958 Louisville Kentucky Seattle 84-72 Temple Kansas St. $Elgin Baylor, Seattle
1957 Kansas City North Carolina Kansas 54-53^ San Francisco Michigan St. $Wilt Chamberlain, Kansas
1956 Evanston, IL San Francisco Iowa 83-71 Temple SMU $Hal Lear, Temple
1955 Kansas City San Francisco La Salle 76-73 Colorado Iowa Bill Russell, San Francisco
1954 Kansas City La Salle Bradley 92-76 Penn St. USC Tom Gola, La Salle
1953 Kansas City Indiana Kansas 69-68 Washington LSU $B.H. Born, Kansas
1952 Seattle Kansas St. John’s 80-63 Illinois Santa Clara Clyde Lovellette, Kansas
1951 Minneapolis Kentucky Kansas St. 68-58 Illinois Okla. A&M Bill Spivey, Kentucky
1950 New York CCNY Bradley 71-68 NC St. Baylor Irwin Dambrot, CCNY
1949 Seattle Kentucky Oklahoma St. 46-36 Illinois Oregon St. Alex Groza, Kentucky
1948 New York Kentucky Baylor 58-42 Holy Cross Kansas St. Alex Groza, Kentucky
1947 New York Holy Cross Oklahoma 58-47 Texas CCNY George Kaftan, Holy Cross
1946 New York Okla. A&M North Carolina 43-40 Ohio St. California Bob Kurland, Okla. A&M
Year Site Champion Second Score Semifinalist Semifinalist Most Outstanding Player
1945 New York Okla. A&M NYU 49-45 Arkansas Ohio St. Bob Kurland, Okla. A&M
1944 New York Utah Dartmouth 42-40* Iowa St. Ohio St. Arnie Ferrin, Utah
1943 New York Wyoming Georgetown 46-34 DePaul Texas Ken Sailors, Wyoming
1942 Kansas City Stanford Dartmouth 53-38 Colorado Kentucky Howie Dallmar, Stanford
1941 Kansas City Wisconsin Washington St. 39-34 Arkansas Pittsburgh John Kotz, Wisconsin
1940 Kansas City Indiana Kansas 60-42 Duquesne USC Marv Huffman, Indiana
1939 Evanston, IL Oregon Ohio St. 46-33 Oklahoma Villanova Jimmy Hull$, Ohio St.

* – Overtime
^ – Three overtimes
$ – MOP did not play for national champion

From 1939 until 1951, the site listed hosted only the championship game

A third-place game was held from 1946 through 1979

Source – NCAA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts



Great Hotel Rates and More! offers great rates on hotels, flights and rental cars! Book all your travel through!

Book a Special Internet Rate hotel room and receive up to $100 in rebates!! Click here for more info!